Stemcell Technologies Stemcell Technologies 25 Years

Brain Organoids Virtual Seminar

Register Now
*Required

Learn about emerging applications of brain organoids in neurological disease.

Join our Virtual STEMCELL Seminar: Brain Organoids as Disease Models, featuring guest speakers Drs. Catarina Morais Seabra and Teresa Pereira da Silva. In this seminar, the speakers will review how they apply brain organoids to study complex cell interactions and patient conditions. A live Q&A session will follow.

Dr. Teresa Pereira da Silva, Research Associate in the lab of Dr. Joaquim Cabral at the Universidade de Lisboa, will discuss her recent paper in Frontiers in Bioengineering and Biotechnology. Her work includes the production of hPSC-derived cerebellar organoids in bioreactors, along with their applications for studying ataxias.

Dr. Catarina Morais Seabra’s talk will follow, describing the use of human cerebral organoids to explore the impact of genetic defects on brain development and wiring in autism spectrum disorder. She is currently a Marie Słodowska Curie Research Fellow in the lab of Dr. João Peça at the Center for Neuroscience and Cell Biology in Portugal.


Date and Time:

Monday, June 8, 2020
2:00 p.m. UTC | 4:00 p.m. CEST | 10:00 a.m. EDT

Interested in learning more but unable to attend the event online? Register now and you will be notified when the recording is available.

Dr. Teresa Pereira da Silva
Stem Cell Engineering Research Group, Institute of Bioengineering and Biosciences (iBB)
Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal
Organoids as Models for Cerebellar Development
Dr. Catarina Morais Seabra
Center for Neuroscience and Cell Biology
Coimbra, Portugal
Brain Organoids: Advanced Models to Explore Autism Spectrum Disorder