Stemcell Technologies Stemcell Technologies 25 Years

Live Webinar: Using hiPSCs to Study Genetic Variants Linked to Schizophrenia

Register Now
*Required
Join us for a live webinar featuring Dr. Kristen Brennand, who will be discussing “Using hiPSCs to Study Genetic Variants Linked to Schizophrenia”.


Kristen Brennand, Ph.D.
Co-director, Pamela Sklar Division of Psychiatric Genomics
Associate Professor, Genetics and Genomics, Neuroscience and Psychiatry
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York
Time:

Wednesday September 26, 2018 - 9:00 a.m. PDT | 12:00 p.m. EDT | 4:00 p.m. UTC

If you are unable to attend the live webinar, please register and we will send you a link to view the recording when it becomes available.


Topics
  • Successes and limitations of hiPSCs to study the impact of common genetic variants on schizophrenia risk
  • The effect of rare genetic variants on neuronal activity
  • Using CRISPR-Cas9 for functional validation of common variants and genes associated with schizophrenia
  • Using a systematic and scalable strategy to evaluate the growing number of schizophrenia-associated variants and genes across various neural cell types and genetic backgrounds
Dr. Kristen Brennand is Co-director of the Pamela Sklar Division of Psychiatric Genomics, and Associate Professor of Genetics and Genomics, Neuroscience and Psychiatry at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, in New York, New York. She trained in developmental and stem cell biology at Harvard University and in neurobiology during postdoctoral work at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies. By combining expertise in stem cell biology and neurobiology, she has pioneered a new approach by which to study psychiatric disease. Dr. Brennand’s work is funded by the National Institutes of Health, the New York Stem Cell Foundation, the Brain Research Foundation, and the Brain and Behavior Research Foundation.