Stemcell Technologies Stemcell Technologies 25 Years

Webinar: Re-Creating Disease with Kidney Organoids and CRISPR

Register Now
*Required
Join us for an upcoming webinar presented by Dr. Benjamin Freedman as he discusses “Re-Creating Disease with Kidney Organoids and CRISPR”.

Dr. Freedman currently leads a research group at the University of Washington in Seattle, where his team is devoted to the reconstitution of regeneration and disease mechanisms in organoids to guide therapy development. As a postdoctoral fellow in the Renal Division at Brigham and Women’s Hospital at Harvard Medical School, Dr. Freedman was responsible for innovative techniques including differentiation of human pluripotent stem cells (hPSCs) into kidney organoids and using CRISPR-Cas9 genome editing to model kidney disease.

Benjamin Freedman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, University of Washington
Division of Nephrology, Department of Medicine
Live Webinar: Re-Creating Disease with Kidney Organoids and CRISPR

Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 10AM PDT | 1PM EDT | 5PM UTC

If you are unable to attend the live webinar, please register and we will send you a link to view the recording when it becomes available.


Topics
  • Differentiation of hPSCs into kidney organoids containing nephron-like segments
  • Generating knockout mutations in organoids with CRISPR
  • Phenotyping organoids to understand disease mechanisms
Dr. Freedman first became fascinated with stem cells as an undergraduate student at the University of Pennsylvania, where he performed laboratory studies on mammalian epimorphic regeneration after injury. He went on to earn his doctorate in Molecular and Cell Biology from the University of California at Berkeley, where he learned to reconstitute the process of nuclear remodeling in cytoplasmic extracts from frog eggs.