Stemcell Technologies Stemcell Technologies 25 Years

Building Brain Organoids and Assembloids to Study Human Development and Disease

Register Now
*Required
Dorsal forebrain organoid expressing beta-III-tubulin

Get an overview of patterned brain organoid technologies and the range of questions that can be addressed with this system.

Join us for a webinar with Dr. Sergiu Paşca from Stanford University! Dr. Paşca’s lab has developed and used brain organoid models to investigate the extended processes of human brain development and psychiatric disease pathogenesis.


DATE & TIME

There are multiple sessions for this global event - Please choose the one that best fits your local time of day.

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Session 1: 9:00 a.m. PDT | 12:00 p.m. EDT | 6:00 p.m. CEST

Thursday, September 24, 2020
Session 2: 6:00 p.m. PDT | Friday, September 25, 9:00 a.m. CST | 10:00 a.m. JST | 11:00 a.m. AEST

ABSTRACT
A critical challenge in understanding the programs underlying development, assembly, and disease of the human brain is the lack of direct access to functioning human brain tissue for detailed investigation and manipulation. In this webinar, Dr. Sergiu Paşca from Stanford University describes work from his laboratory to develop 3D brain-region-specific organoids from human pluripotent stem cells. He also presents approaches pioneered by his group to combine organoids from different regions into assembloids to study neural circuit formation and shows how these human cellular models can be used to study neuropsychiatric disease.

Interested in learning more but unable to attend the event online? Register now and you will be notified when the recording is available.

Sergiu Paşca, MD
Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stanford University, California